Accepted to NYU - Dramatic Writing AMA

Hi! Just saw this, but I’m applying for the MFA in the fall, did you have any professional experience before applying? Or had you written multiple scripts?

m7oda

Yes I did. I've had over four years of experience. Senior staff writer for the arabic version of SNL for four seasons and the headwriter for a few Arabic animated series.

Oh cool, I’m Lebanese! Do you think that writing about something culturally specific is helpful for the application? Also, did you get a chance to meet your classmates? Thanks for your help:)

m7oda

I don't know about the stories being culturally specific and I don't think it has to be actually. my entries were a spec script of Rick and Morty and an original script for a Mockumentary series set in the U. S. but the storyline for that episode had something to do with Egypt in a way but I don't think that that counted as something.

m7oda

From what I hear they accept 24 each year. I'm starting at the beginning of September so I don't know anyone yet. Also, I think there are no divisions to join and you simply choose whatever you wanna study and write in your Thesis and chosen courses.

Memz

Hey!

Thanks for doing this. I am preparing my application for next years intake. I wanted to ask how you approached and structured your personal statement? We only get 750 words, which is a lot less compared to the other programs. I have a hard time figuring out how to cram in all the answers to their questions in that small space..

Also, what was your impression with regards to what they value most in future candidates? Background, experience, the writing samples or something else?

m7oda

Hey!