Columbia vs UCLA vs USC vs UT Austin

dchuang0710

Supporter+
Hi guys

I am in the incredibly lucky position where I got into four amazing film programs.

I took an oversea trip to visit all four schools thinking I would be able to know which school is right for me after my visits.

But I am now three days away from

the commitment deadline, and I still find myself torn between schools.

I majored in a non creative field undergrad, so I am really looking to develop my artistic voice, sharpen my production skills, and build my portfolio in graduate film school. I have a strong affinity to the horror/thriller genre, and my ultimate goal is to work as a writer-director or as a showrunner in those genres.

I am leaning towards Columbia and UCLA because I value both schools’ emphasis on writing. However I am still on the fence about them because both schools have elements that I find concerning.

Columbia
Pros
  • Get to really focus on both writing and directing
  • Good screenwriting/tv writing industry connections
  • Have a devoted festival person with good festival connections / many student films get into major festivals
  • Passionate and devoted faculty
  • Students seem more mature
  • NYC (I have existing connections here as I used to live in the city)
  • The Ivy prestige (might work in favor when I work internationally)

Cons
  • Expensive even with some scholarships
  • no soundstage (not necessarily an issue for some type of of filmmaker, but because of my genre, I would love to just have some type of set building experiences)
  • no emphasis on core production classes like cinematography and editing/color grading
  • Thesis grant not guaranteed
  • NYC feels pretty unsafe these days (I am an Asian woman)

UCLA
Pros
  • Very low price tag with my fellowship
  • Only admits 18 directing students, so potentially more individual mentorship from faculty
  • Has a very unpretentious vibe