Corporate Law vs MFA/SCA (1 Viewer)

Lvr23

I am currently in my second year at a top fourteen law school. I want to pursue a career in entertainment. My ideal job would to be a writer or show runner but I also am interested in the business side (I have an undergrad degree in economics from an ivy league) and would gladly pursue producing if writing doesn’t work out.

I have to decide what I’m going to do after law school soon and right now I am considering two paths

1. Corporate law specializing in entertainment law
I would try to use that as a spring board to working for a studio or producer and do writing in my free time (which wouldn’t be much)

2. Apply to USC for grad school in either
A) MFA writing for screen and television; or
B) Peter Stark Producing program

I’m extremely conflicted about which path will put me in the best position to become a writer or producer. I am willing to put the hard work in I just need to know where to devote my time and energy. I wouldn’t need to take out loans for grad school so that isn’t a factor. I could really use some advice. Thank you so much.

panda

I received an MFA from USC's screenwriting program. One of my classmates previously received a law degree through Yale and had been working as a lawyer in New York before moving to LA. If you're trying to become a writer/producer, you have to at some point choose to pursue writing/treat that more as a full-time commitment. The Stark program's great, too.

llueve

Supporter