Film MFA No Experience/ Program Recommendations?

rainydays

Hi everyone!

I'm a junior in college right now majoring in English and minoring in Africana Studies, and I recently have started realizing I may want to work in film. I have no film experience but have done a lot of journalism and literary/visual magazine work and have done many creative works (poetry, mostly). I'm an English major and hopefully will be taking a Screenwriting class in the Fall, but that is the extent to which my college supports film really.

I want to spend the next few months/year (even though in a perfect world I would apply this Fall) trying to teach myself how to create content logistically so I can complete applications, but we'll see how that goes. I was wondering how out there would it be for me to apply to an MFA program in film? Ideally I'd want to go into directing, but I also enjoy writing and have no shortage of ideas for movies, I'd just want to direct them rather than hand off scripts.

I see the purpose of a Masters to learn and genuinely want to do so through film school, but are my chances just abysmal for any good school? I do have above 3.7 gpa from a top liberal arts college and a good resume with a lot of very different experiences, it's just not film-focused. I would want to do a program that is very focused on the industry and those kind of connections but also ideally offers a wide range of experiences. While I don't have film experience, my resume is quit strong academically and extra-curricularly besides that. Does anyone have any program recommendations as well?

I'm far from the only person to listen to. I'd make sure you get a lot of opinions before you send out applications, but from what I know you don't need any kind of film college for film graduate school. Although it might help a little.

I know a couple people who have gotten degrees in sciences and have gotten into an MFA program. So I wouldn't worry about that.