Housing in L.A.

kb5

Hi all you USC/UCLA/AFI/LMU/other L.A. schools that I'm forgetting people!

I'm by no means an expert on housing in L.A., but I've lived here for four and a half years, and I spend more time than I should reading Curbed, so I figured I'd start a thread for people who are looking for more information about housing here! My apologies in advance for this being more-oriented towards USC—that's where I went to undergrad, so I know that campus area best.

For USC people:
In terms of housing by campus, it seems like most USC housing options are like $800-1000/month for a shared room. They come fully furnished, which is nice, and I think they may have someone come every once in a while to clean the bathrooms, but I'm not sure about that.

In the USC area, there are a bunch of options for non-university owned housing. I rented from Trojan Villas (who were fine, if not the most responsive when something needed fixing), and Southern Cal Student Housing (who were great, but also kept WAY too much of my security deposit for themselves). There are a bunch of other companies that own properties in the area, like StuHo (which I think is ok), First Choice, and CDI. One of them is supposed to be just awful, but I can't remember which it is—maybe CDI? There are also some really fancy, overpriced buildings like the Lorenzo, Tuscany, Gateway, 27th Place, etc. I think those come furnished also.

North of campus (between Vermont & Figueroa and south of Adams) has the reputation of being the safest place to live, but lots of grad students (and undergrads) also live directly west of campus, which is a bit cheaper typically I think. There are a few Facebook groups devoted to finding housing, so you can always request to join one and see what people have posted in there.