How to build a cinematography portfolio? Pursuing MA in cinematography after a Bachelor's in Engineering

sid_2000

I did my Bachelor's in engineering and I have always had a passion for camera, composition, and such and have 4 years of experience in handling cameras for covering outdoor events. I have finally decided to pursue a degree in cinematography and would like to do a master's. I went through the requirements and realized you gotta have a portfolio. While I do have a strong portfolio in photography, I may not have one in motion pictures. What do you suggest? Should I attend a crash course in cinematography beforehand applying for a master's or should I create a portfolio?
Also another question, some of the uni's have asked to attach a work as a part of the application. Does this need to be of professional grade or something that you have done with gears that you've got?
Please and thank you.

While I do have a strong portfolio in photography, I may not have one in motion pictures.
Some programs accept still photos but I think that's more for directing.

I know AFI requires a ten sixty... An example here:

AFI definitely wants people who have already been working in the business a little in the field of specialization but I don't believe all have that requirement.

Can your still photography camera take video? A lot of them do.

I think if you're good at still cameras then it will translate. Hold off on doing a crash course unless you really want to. I think they want to see potential in what you submit so do the best composition etc with the equipment you have access to? I don't think it necessarily needs to be professional grade they maybe want to see potential.

If there's a crash course that's affordable to take while you build your portfolio you might consider it if you want to. I'd say first start practicing shooting video and composing moving pictures and see how it goes.