Is my GPA too low for Film School? (1 Viewer)

AK006

I have an extremely low GPA i.e 1.7 from my undergraduate. But I have extensive 6 years of work experience, working in front of the camera as well as behind the camera for leading brands such as Coke, Honda, Suzuki, etc.

I want to know if I work hard on my GRE, and write an amazing SOP. Do I stand any chance for any top film schools such as USC, LMU, Chapman, CalArts, etc?

Chris W

Willem was robbed
Staff member
If you sort by accepted applications and GPA in our tracker someone got accepted with a 1.37 GPA:

Check out this article too:

Film School MFA Acceptance Rates, Minimum GPAs, Decision Dates, and more... (UPDATED with 2020 stats)

Film School MFA Acceptance Rates, Minimum GPAs, Decision Dates, and more... (UPDATED with 2020 stats)

People often ask "What is the minimum GPA for USC film school?" Or "What is the acceptance rate of NYU film school?" The problem is that Film Schools are often very tight lipped and secret about their acceptance rates and the minimum GPAs that they accept. However thanks to the over 3,200...

So I'd say it's not impossible but you're really going to have to hit your personal statement and application OUT OF THE PARK. It's definitely a hurdle to overcome.

Last edited:

AK006

If you sort by accepted applications and GPA in our tracker someone got accepted with a 1.37 GPA:

People often ask "What is the minimum GPA for USC film school?" Or "What is the acceptance rate of NYU film school?" The problem is that Film Schools are often very tight lipped and secret about their acceptance rates and the minimum GPAs that they accept. However thanks to the over 3,200...

So I'd say it's not impossible but you're really going to have to hit your personal statement and application OUT OF THE PARK. It's definitely a hurdle to overcome.

What's your view on school such as NYFA ?
I believe they don't consider GPA as a factor in selection process, if I am not mistaken.

AK006