Is NYFA a good film school?

Erwin Sanders

Hi, I'm from Indonesia and planning to study abroad for a Master degree. I know that a degree isn't gonna help me find a job, but considering I'm an international student and planning to work in US, I think the best way to start is to get a degree first, so that I will have a better chance to work there.

Back to my question, does anyone know a good filming school that specialized in editing? So far I got NYFA for $17,000 per semester for two-year film making. Is the tuition worth the experience there?

@Chris Wright has suggested me to check out Chapman University that offers a three-year film production specialized in editing. The tuition there is around $20,000.

I prefer to study at NYFA as it provides a faster 2-year film making programme, because I want to work as fast as I could, rather than spending a longer time to study.

Any opinions or advice is very appreciated.

Thanks.

Chris W

Willem was robbed
Staff member
BU
Here's each school's film school page on this site:

New York Film Academy (NYFA) - Los Angeles

Chapman University - Dodge College of Film and Media Arts (M.F.A.)

While I personally have no first hand experience with EITHER school (so take this with a grain of salt)... but I've heard mixed things (both good and bad) about NYFA but I've only heard positive things about Chapman.

Film school really is what you make of it so you can definitely be successful anywhere if you want to be... but hopefully someone with NYFA experience will get back to you on this soon. In the meantime... if you search "nyfa" in the forums you should be able to find a ton of stuff. These forums have been around since 2002 after all. :)

Here's a link to the search results:

Search Results for Query: nyfa | FilmSchool.org - The Best Film School Reviews & Forums

Here's a post from 2009 comparing NYFA to AFI:

Differences NYFA vs. AFI???

Kira

MFA TV Writer @UCLA
Staff member
FilmSchool.org Writer
UCLA