Is UCLA extension worth it?

Sopheeeyah

Hi!

I'm an international student looking to study film Directing in LA. I was informed by a friend of mine about the programs at the UCLA extension and I learnt the classes are mostly taken at night.

Has anyone ever take classes there or does anyone know someone who has?

I need reviews please.

Thank you.

Julie Lew

Staff member
The professional program is different from UCLA extension. I don’t have any experience with extension, sorry, but I did love the professional program course!

Chris W

As You Wish
Staff member
The professional program is different from UCLA extension. I don’t have any experience with extension, sorry, but I did love the professional program course!
Ah. I probably should have known that. :)

Chris W

As You Wish
Staff member
It looks like @Sabin did UCLA extension courses.

After Outfest, I took the UCLA Professional Program and Extension courses for the past five years or so. And it's been useful but juggling work (and finding work) with writing has been such a stress and I don't really have much by way of cohort in my life.

Sabin

It looks like @Sabin did UCLA extension courses.
Yes, I did. Although I've never taken a directing course at UCLA Extension. I'm sure they're good. You can enroll in a "Directing Track" there. The Professional Program is also a pretty good crash course. They're not always at night. It depends on the course. I don't have direct experience with the directing courses but I'm sure they're fine.

Chris W

As You Wish
Staff member
The Professional Program is also a pretty good crash course.
Are you able to hopefully review the professional program on this site? That would be awesome.

Which one did you do?

Sabin

Are you able to hopefully review the professional program on this site? That would be awesome.

Which one did you do?