Less than 3.0 GPA?

room904

Hi there,

I'm new to this forrum, so please kind :)

I'm a Junior year undergrad in Japan preparing to apply to several MFA film progams in the States (so far im considering Columbia, NYU, AFI, Art Center and CALarts).

Anyway, from what i researched so far I heard that most US grad schools wouldnt even consider your application if u have a GPA of less than 3.0. Is that true? Anyone here got accepted to any MFA program with less than 3.0 on their transcript?

The reason I'm asking is because, well my GPA is not that hot. Not that im a bad student(ithink), i actually got Dean's listed twice. And the main reason why my GPA is not that good is because i double enrolled to a vocational school in film, adding my class time to 35hours per week (excluding assignments from both schools) :(

Any comments on this would be a great help. And knowing that it's Aprill and most of the results from last year applications should be in by now, I would like to congratulate those who made it to their dream school!! And for those who didnt, better luck this year-really.
After all we all share the same dream here...right? ;)

Last edited by a moderator:
My advice is that you should research the schools and see what their requirement is. Yes, most of them require at least a 3.0. But, I know for USC, you can add a note to explain why your grades are low. In those cases, your GRE scores need to be pretty high.

Thanks rockstar,

Actually, most of them (all the ones i listed above) did not specify their GPA requirement. But to be safe i am thinking of taking the GRE.

but then surfing through several schools' requirements, most of the MFA programs do not require GRE either. Supposively i did well on my GRE, is it recomended that i send it with my application even when it's not asked for?

You should email the program representative to check on the GPA thing - but that's great if they don't have a minimum! :)