Little film experience, seeking help with MFA in Production/Directing Fall 2021 applications to UCLA & FSU

Chyneazy

Hi everyone!

I'm a Wyoming native, about to get my BFA in Theatre, conc. Acting. I'm seeking advice for resumes and portfolios for the MFA at FSU and UCLA in Production and Production/Directing respectively.

Since I grew up in Wyoming, I don't have much film experience and I'm not sure how to format my resume. What exactly do they look for? Some say to lean towards a professional resume and others say a creative resume.

My academic and professional experience is in publicity, social media, and directing for theatre. I've made 2 videos. One is 1 minute narrative short and the other is a recruitment video for the theatre department. I also had a brief screenwriting independent study with a professor here and I've been a PA for one professional short film.

I don't have references or connections rooted in the film world either. I could use any and all advice or help.

jorge92

Supporting Member
UCLA
Although I haven’t started at UCLA, I can say many of these top programs do not require any professional experience in film. However, I would definitely begin working on a short narrative film that you can submit with your applications.

UCLA is probably the only school I know of that does not require a visual sample for the application. Instead, you submit a short film treatment and your statement of purpose. They focus heavily on storytelling ability and less so on the technical aspect of filmmaking, at least during the application process. The idea is they can teach you the technical stuff once you’re admitted.

dkimg21

Supporting Member
UCLA
Hey neighbor!