LMU vs Chapman Film School MFA

Has anyone heard a rumor that LMU is having trouble filling seats for Production in the Fall 2018? I've heard the same about Chapman. That they're calling applicants who decided on another school to offer the money to attend. If anyone has any insight into this, please share.

Truuuuee. I’m gonna do some more research on them. I know Justin Simien based Dear White People off his experience in Chapman so I’ll try to see if I can find anything else on them.

There are actually a lot of notable alums: The Duffer Brothers, Justin Simien, John Swetnam (sells multiple specs a year), Ben York Jones & Michael Mohan (creators of Everything Sucks on Netflix), Carlos Lopez Estrada (directed Blindspotting), Kelly Galuska (writer on Bojack Horseman), Scott Speer (director Step Up franchise), etc. There are lots of working pros in the business too. I've produced 15 features and almost 100 hours of primetime TV since I graduated with my MFA in 2012. Guys and girls I graduated with are working in different facets of production, including scripted and unscripted editing and in executive level positions at major production companies and studios.

Anyway, I'm biased because I went there, but I couldn't imagine going anywhere else at this point. I received a $4k per semester fellowship and the producing program is only 2 years, so the loans I had to take out were significantly less than those on the production track. Living costs were not that expensive for me when living in Orange, but the commute was deadly when traveling to LA for work / internships. Chapman's faculty is unbeatable in my opinion.