MFA Social Documentary Film Program at SVA

Niki B

Full Disclosure: I work for the SocDoc department, but I wanted to let all of you aspiring and current Doc filmmakers know about our new (in the second year) program in non-fiction filmmaking at the School of Visual Arts in New York. We have amazing faculty and guest lecturers, great facilities and a supportive film and arts community. Check out our web site for more information: www.mfasocdoc.sva.edu

ChrisDoco

I am a graduate of the SVA Social Documentary program. I graduated a few years ago and wanted to share my experience. In short I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND GOING TO SOCDOC unless you have a full scholarship. I am still close with a lot of people who have graduated from the school and everyone agrees but since we are all so invested in the program most people aren't vocal about it. Read on for more explanation.

The school is run basically like a bootcamp. You are forced to take a full load of courses and then labs on top of that (that you don't get any credits for). The really sad thing is that you are being trained to be a slave for the Maro (the head of the program) and her sycophants. All the best students in the program every year are offered unpaid (a few people have been offered very low pay) jobs on the professor's documentaries. I was told this when I first got there by someone who was ahead of me and didn't want to believe it. I'll give it to Maro though, she has a great business plan. Get a dozen young hungry filmmakers to pay you 80,000 so you can train them to be efficient free labor on your own films.