Non Film Experience Graduate from India applying for MFA in Film Production/Direction (1 Viewer)

riddhoroy

Hi guys!

First of all, hats off to the creators of this forum. It is wonderful that there is resource that is helping those of us who are confused when applying for Film Schools which is a huge ordeal in itself.

I completed my Bachelors in Economics from Pune, India and I'm now switching to this industry. To learn and develop my skills further, I am applying to film schools in the US.
Currently my list of Schools include: NYU, Chapman, University of Texas at Austin, Syracuse, University of Central Florida and Brooklyn College.

I am really nervous since I do not have prior professional experience in film production although I have time from now until Fall when I would start my program to build more experience. I have however been involved with films and cinema for a number of years. I have worked on Short Films in the capacity of a Director/Writer/Editor and even got them screened at festivals around the country where I've even won accolades for a few. Besides that in my university I created and started its first Film Society and have even interned with a film related NGO to work on documentaries.

At this moment I had the following questions that are bugging me:
1) I really want to know which other universities would be a good fit and would accept someone at my level?

2) My financial backing is not very strong, what are the kind of scholarships that are available to international students? What is the criteria for receiving the scholarship?

3) What are the factors that I should work on the most in my application since I'm applying from a non film background?

4) What are the kind of opportunities that are available once you've completed your degree?

I would love to hear from thoughts about this from other people who are presently in film school in the US/intend to be.

Thanks in advance!!

Chris W

Willem was robbed
Staff member
Welcome to the site!