NYU Dramatic Writing Program - Fall 2012

dmtr

I guess I'll start this thread. Applicants to the NYU Dramatic Writing Program can post here. Looks like notifications will go out in mid-March. I applied to the TV writing concentration and submitted a spec and pilot script. What did ya'll send in and what is your concentration?

dmtr

Originally posted by Seoulless:
I sent in a feature length comedy. How does this program's reputation compare to UCLA?
I am not an expert on UCLA, but both are considered top tier writing programs. Both have outstanding faculty (e.g., Richard Walter at UCLA; Charlie Rubin at NYU) and are well respected by the industry. I know there are many people on these boards who have attended UCLA and NYU, so they may have better insight on this topic.

Who else applied to NYU for Dramatic Writing and what did you submit?

Hey all,

Goodluck and I submitted a teleplay and a pilot. Again good luck!

Hey has anybody heard about interviews yet? I applied to other programs and one has already rejected me and the other I did get an interview so I suppose they should be coming in the next few days...

dmtr

Hey! Congrats on the interview with the other program. NYU doesn't seem to do interviews for the Dramatic Writing program anymore. I believe they used to, but for the 2009 class they just did "informal" surprise calls, and last year they didn't even do that. You can read about it in past threads on this forum. I guess they could change their mind, but my money is on radio silence until notifications come out in March.

mjsoutha

I'm in the same boat as you, Ignatius Reilly. One rejection, and another place (AFI) I got an interview. NYU is my top choice, though.

dmtr

It seems like the selection committee is a bit ahead of where they were last year since at least one wave of rejections has gone out.

Last year it looks like the Dramatic Writing notifications went as follows:

March 2nd - 1st wave of rejections
March 4th - 2nd wave of rejections