NYU graduate Filmmaking MFA

Luke joseph

I thought I would start this thread because it's very easy to get mixed up between the number of different programs at each school. To clarify, this thread is for the NYU graduate filmmaking MFA for the Fall of 2010 in New York City.

I'll guess I'll start this by introducing myself. I've been on this forum for the last 2 years, and in that time I've applied to graduate school twice - both times being wait-listed at NYU (am I a sucker for punishment...you betcha). I figure that if you want something badly enough you refuse to give up - cliches abound, but its true. And so, I've applied again to NYU with the hopes of making it in on my third attempt. I'd be happy to talk to anyone about the process - but be warned, in my experience the more you know about all of this the easier it is to get sucked into the worrying game. With that said, I'm more than happy to contribute to everyone's madness. Cheers!

Akriti

Hey Luke,

This is my first year applying to NYU.
I was wondering if you could tell me something about when the interview requests and final decisions come in? Also what are the interviews like? Do they have a specific format?

Thanks.

Luke joseph

Akriti,

I received notification that I got an interview around the first two weeks of february. I remember it being slightly different both years, once around Feb. 8th, and the other around Feb 13th- Both times it was for an interview in Mid March. Final decisions, if I recall correctly were the last week of march or early April. The interviews were really relaxed, literally a conversation about film- no trick questions. With that said, I didn't get in both times, so maybe I'm doing something wrong, hahaha.