Undergraduate Application Anxiety.....HELP!

Gregory D. Goyins

I have been lurking on this site for about the past 10 months or so in anticipation of writing this very post. I have silently followed the instructions of the most vociferous and prudent of you and have now come to a crossroads as to what my next moves are.

Here is part of my story:
I graduated high school in 1984, was accepted to Tisch School of the Arts on scholarship to the Drama department when they had a 5 studio system for Theatre majors. I was one of a class of 16 that was able to attend Circle-In-The-Square Theatre School. The IMHO the best of the bunch. I was in a summer internship at Credit Suisse First Boston, at my Dad's pleading to find some supplementary work, and was asked, that September to be a stockbroker trainee. Being no fool, I, of course, accepted. I subsequently left NYU to pursue my newfound dream as a captain of industry. The stock market crash of 1988 had other plans for me.

Disheartened and feeling slightly disconnected. I turned to drugs and alcohol as a solution. I went to rehab and tried to start again. I went to DeVry Institute for Telecommunication Management and was recruited (before completing the degree program)into a job working for an ISP in NJ as a network engineer. I excelled at it and was quickly promoted. 7 years later, I was given an obscene amount of money in order to run my own company based on an idea I wrote on the back of a napkin in a dinner meeting.