UT Austin - Film & Media Production MFA 2020

ricktown

Hey y'all! New to this site, but I'm pretty sure there was not a UT 2020 thread yet. If there's anyone else here applying for the Fall, say hello!

My question - for your "reel" are most of you creating a more traditional reel, that weaves in bits and pieces of your work with a single soundtrack and underlying theme/message (aesthetically) - or are you splitting up your content best you can as isolated pieces? I'm not experienced in either type of reel so just getting a pulse on what anyone else might be doing.

Thanks!

Ricky

ricktown

Another question I had - for our academic writing samples, are we allowed to edit/tweak as we see fit or have to submit as is?

Chris W

Willem was robbed
Staff member
BU
Another question I had - for our academic writing samples, are we allowed to edit/tweak as we see fit or have to submit as is?
Is this for stuff already submitted to a school? Not sure. But I'm leaning towards leave as originally written.

ricktown

Is this for stuff already submitted to a school? Not sure. But I'm leaning towards leave as originally written.
The only description is, "This should be a report, article, review, or anything that you've written for a class (or similar). No page limit, we recommend something at least 5-10 pages long."

My plan was to submit my strongest undergrad paper, but it still includes some areas of improvement / refinement. I just wasn't sure if I could "update" it accordingly, or if that was seen as not kosher.

magg6789

Hi! As of now I think we are some of the only ones within the community/website that applied to UT. One of my documents arrived one day late so we'll see how that plays out.

Chris W

Willem was robbed
Staff member
BU
Hi! As of now I think we are some of the only ones within the community/website that applied to UT. One of my documents arrived one day late so we'll see how that plays out.