UT Austin MFA Film Production Fall 2018

Sachin Dheeraj

Hey there people. This is Sachin. I'm a software engineer working in the Bay Area aspiring to be a filmmaker (I know it sounds weird :D). I didn't find any thread for UTA so thought I'd start this. Super anxious to hear back from UTA. Anyone else on the same boat? Would love to say hi to fellow applicants!

Zeno

Hi Sachin! I too am waiting to hear back from UT Austin production. And it doesn't sound weird at all that you're a software person. Makes you a more interesting candidate. I have a fine arts background as a painter. Also applied to AFI, UCLA, Columbia, and NYU. Will say that UT Austin is not an interview school, as far as I can tell. You're in or not. And they take a bit to notify either way. In other words, later than others. Less than 20 spots so very competitive. But, like you, I think it's worth it to apply. And you may want to add your info to the 2018 Grad spreadsheet: Graduate Film School Applications 2018 The sharing we are doing via this site is kinda novel and helps soothe with quantifiable data. Right up your alley! ;)

Last edited:

Sachin Dheeraj

Hi Zeno! That's amazing. I pretty much applied to the same schools that you did. I updated my info in the spreadsheet. Yes, this website is really really helpful and I'm glad I found it. Hope we both get in. Fingers crossed :)

Sachin Dheeraj

Contacted the graduate coordinator today. They anticipate sending notifications during the week of February 19th. :cool:

Sachin Dheeraj

Yeah man! Good luck to us :)

Nacho

I am also applying for the Production program. Thanks for the info, Sachin!

I recognize your name from last year, Zeno. I applied to a few schools last year and I didn't get in, but I find it insane that you were waitlisted at so many schools. I hope that you get into the program of your choice this year.

Zeno

I am also applying for the Production program. Thanks for the info, Sachin!