Who to ask for letters of recommendations (MFA screenwriting)

michaellearner

I am applying to all the top MFA screenwriting schools. I was a neuroscience major in college and I minored in screenwriting. I have been working in consulting since graduating (2 years).

My plan was to ask one screenwriting professor who I have a close relationship with and then two of my bosses in consulting who I also have close relationships with.

My concern is that it might not look good that two of my recommendations are coming from people who do not really know me as a writer or as an artist (even though I do expect that they will have great things to say about my work ethic, creativity, etc.)

What do you guys think?

Chris W

Willem was robbed
Staff member
will have great things to say about my work ethic, creativity, etc
Those two are key for sure. I think knowing someone has drive and is creative is very important and valuable to a school. You're going to go to the school to hone your skills as an artist and those are great building blocks.

I think that's fine.

Manwitch

The beauty of recommendations is that they can only really help. If your writing portfolio is weak, a glowing recommendation will tilt the scales in your favor and if it's very strong, a flaccid recommendation is unlikely to keep you out of the running. My advice is to ask people who know you, regardless of their area of expertise, and seeking corroborators who can add to the cohesion of your overall submission and complete a sense of who you are.

Kira

MFA TV Writer @UCLA
Staff member
FilmSchool.org Writer
My concern is that it might not look good that two of my recommendations are coming from people who do not really know me as a writer or as an artist (even though I do expect that they will have great things to say about my work ethic, creativity, etc.)