MA vs. MFA? (need help deciding)

Bmob Dren

So, I am 32, and I feel a bit old to be finally doing something about this, but I have been passionate about film and television since infancy.

I have my B.A. in Communications from Indiana University, and I am now, after 8 years since graduating, finally seriously contemplating going to film school. My problem is that I have not done much in regard to actual camera work or on-set production experience. I worked in NYC for a few years after college, just doing lowly PA work, but I have no experience with the technical craft of actual filmmaking.

Can someone give me advice on what I should do if I want to go to Film School but I really don't have a portfolio of work yet? I am contemplating on whether to do apply for an MFA in FIlm production or screenwriting, or just apply for an MA in Film or Cinema studies. I love to critique film on a cultural level, as well, so I could see going either way.

But, my true passion is I want to learn how to MAKE films. I am just scared of applying and being up against all these other people who have been using cameras since they were kids shooting scenes in their backyards. Hehe.

Any advice?? Also, film school program recommendations would be greatly appreciated. I am in Austin, TX but would seriously consider relocating for the right school, pending acceptance, of course.

BMod-

I don't think anyone here can help you decide on either an ma or mfa, but if you really want to make films then you should get your mfa (or just do it on your own).

In terms of camera experience and competence with the craft, I can tell you that I was accepted to Columbia's mfa program for this coming fall and I've never picked up a camera before (But I have been writing for some time), and I got into the directing/screenwriting program. So, you don't need to know how camera's work (at least for columbia's program which is geared more towards getting the story right then learning in school how to MAKE films.