Arthrax

Supporter
Hi all,

Would love to get the thoughts of users on here and current/former students of both schools!

I'm an international student going to the US on a J-1 visa with a large sponsored scholarship for one year only and have been admitted to two schools but I'm having a hard time in seeing what my next steps should actually be.

I've been admitted for fall 2024 to the MFA Screenwriting at UCLA and for the spring 2025 admission for USC in MFA Film Production. My pros and cons for these courses are as follows:

UCLA Pros
  1. Received a large amount of money for a one-year fellowship!
  2. Beautiful campus with a real American college campus vibe
  3. Safer location
  4. Smaller class sizes
  5. Only a two year course, so cheaper in the long run
  6. Potential to obtain grad student housing as a married couple
  7. Potentially less rigorous - i.e. no late nights on set and probably more time to get involved in campus life and societies, which is something I would love to do.
UCLA Cons
  1. Only a writing course with no hands-on film production opportunities. As a writer-director, I'm not sure how I feel about committing to writing only, especially as I've worked in my country's film industry for almost five years already.
  2. No encouragement for collaboration with other students
  3. Only focused on refining writing talent, not on expanding networks, finding agents, or finding work. Professors have said there's plenty of time to do this after graduation... but I can't do that because I have to adhere to the two year residency rule after graduation.
  4. I was told by a current student in the admitted students zoom to live in my car in the parking lot because there's no housing (and no, it wasn't a joke!)
  5. Another current student said that class gets really heated because people apparently can't take criticism.
  6. Only have funding for one year from my scholarship and UCLA and very unlikely I'd get any scholarship for my second year from UCLA.