1. The FilmSchool.org community has been helping people apply to film school since 2002. Log in or Create an Account and get your film school questions answered.
  2. Did you go to film school for undergrad? Please review the school on our Film School review system. (You can review anonymously)
    Dismiss Notice

How detrimental is it to not have a recent body of work?

Discussion in 'Graduate Film School Discussions' started by AtBRareform, Sep 7, 2018.

Tags:
  1. AtBRareform

AtBRareform New Member

Ratings:
    +4
    I graduated undergrad in 2016 with a Film BFA. I've applied to a few of the MFA programs talked about on here twice since then, but I haven't had any luck. I haven't really been involved in any film-related projects since undergrad, and I'm just wondering if I'm setting myself up for failure applying w/o recent work. How heavily is that weighed versus other application materials? I was also curious if some of the alternative options to submitting video work are viable at all, like USC's photo narrative option. I have a disability in my right side and can't shoot very well on my own. I'd really like to attend an MFA program because I think it'd be a good environment for me to improve and meet like-minded people over just trying to breach the industry with a physical impairment. Anyway, any insight would be great. Thanks!

2. Operator

Operator Active Member

Top Poster Of Month

Featured Threads:
    Ratings:
    +118