UGH... decisions, decisions

Tobsterius

Hello, hello.

I'm in the middle of a... problem... is probably a good word for it.

I applied to USC, NYU, Columbia and AFI. Sadly, I got rejected to all.

I also applied to lesser known grad film/tv schools, one being Hofstra's documentary program the other being NYIT MA in Comm. Arts. (which has a filmmaking track) I was accepted to both.

Most people are telling me that I will not be disappointed in the quality of education I'd get at these two institutions. And I fully know that.

My problem is... do I accept acceptance to either one?

Actually...

I guess I should probably back track a bit.

I have a degree in Broadcasting. But I love film. I chose broadcasting as an undergrad major to get a 'safe' degree with every intention of working in the film business. If I bombed out, I had something to fall back on. I thought it was a smart idea to do that, given how competitive the film industry is. At the start of undergrad, I made myself a promise.. major in something 'safe,' and if you had the itch at the end of 4 years to get a film degree, apply for grad school.

As you can guess, I had the itch so I applied to NYU and was placed on the waiting list. Not exactly the decision I wanted, but I was so impressed with my performance (apparently just getting wait listed at NYU Film is an achievement, I guess), I decided to apply again. Plus 3 other schools. Sadly, my performance was abysmal.

My issue arises in what to do for this upcoming year. Clearly the top 4 are out of the question, as I didn't make it to the waiting lists; so no hope there.

But... I'm 24 years old, no perm job prospects (tv/film industry at the moment is really... ugh), and I'm itching to go back to school. Do I go to the lesser schools?

Be done with it, accept that *cough* "I am not good enough" *cough* and just go to one of the two grad programs I was accepted to?

Try again for the big guys?